Tuesday, November 15, 2022

7 Chakra Colors and Their Powerful Meanings


Chakra Colors at Colors 4 Health

When we see or envision the seven major chakra colors, our mind, body, and spirit interacts with their vibrational energy. Colors work at the cellular level to renew vitality, foster relaxation, and create balance and ease. 

Chakra means "wheel" in Sanskrit and ancient Hindus/yogis described them as our personal energy field. 

See the picture above. It represents the general area of the 7 main chakras in our physical body from root chakra (red, at the bottom or base) to the crown chakra (purple at the crown).

These centers represent etheric energy and are called chi, life force, or prana/breath. Check out this video to learn more about etheric energy, a force present in all physical matter as well as all space in the universe.  

Our chakras are interrelated, and have a powerful influence over our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being.


If our chakras are integrated (aligned), life force or chi is able to flow freely through these areas. We feel alive and present in our body and mind from moment to moment, yet open to receiving energy from the highest realms of Spirit.

If our thinking is disrupted by energy blocks, we feel lackluster or stuck, and sense pain or dis-ease (anxiety or nervousness) in mind or body. This is an opportune time to experiment using the colors of the chakras to improve wellness. 

Try to envision, meditate on, or look at each color. Notice places in  body, mind, or spirit where life force energy feels sluggish, blocked, or missing. 

Look Below for Chakra Color Meanings: Discover Ways to Identify Where We are Holding On and Areas Where We are Flexible

When we use our intuition as a guide, it's easy to  discover parts of us that need attention and re-balancing.

The links below lead to posts that demonstrate specific chakra colors, and ways to use them such as eating foods that are that color, wearing clothing in that color, and decorating your home or office with them. 

Chakra Colors at Colors 4 Health

The color that corresponds to the root chakra or 1st chakra is RED. It signifies health, home, childhood, safety, grounding, trust, stability and abundance.

The color that's associated with the sacral chakra or 2nd chakra is ORANGE. It signifies creativity, desires, individuality, sexuality, flow, emotions, pleasure, and change. 

The color for the solar plexus chakra or 3rd chakra is YELLOWIt signifies autonomy, determination, self-discipline, personal power, motivation, transformation, boundaries, ego, and confidence.


The color for the heart chakra or 4th chakra is GREEN. It represents compassion, empathy, love, forgiveness, joy, acceptance, gratitude, and generosity. 


The color for the throat chakra or 5th chakra is BLUE . It connotes expression, communication, purpose, integrity, creativity, acceptance, honesty, and authenticity. 


The color for the third eye chakra or 6th chakra is INDIGO. It signifies intuition, self-realization, awareness, imagination, dreams, clarity and connection. 


The color for the crown chakra or 7th chakra is PURPLE. It represents oneness, faith, awareness, understanding, enlightenment, transcendence, surrender, and wisdom. 

Want to reap benefits of using the colors from an energetic rainbow? Visualize or look at chakra colors, and experience and absorb the powerful energy vibrations they produce.

Each of the 7 chakra colors has a unique vibrational energy frequency. When aligned with its corresponding body area, energy flows freely and creates wellness and ease.


Please share comments below. Is chakra a familiar term or is the idea new to you?


Do you enjoy seeing and wearing colors from the 7 main chakras and select those colors you love for home furnishing, office décor, and include them in your lifestyle in other ways? Please explain below.


Before you go consider this... If you have too much to do, you're in luck.
There's no need to stress, because I can help you.

Nancy Andres is a skilled Freelance Health & Lifestyle Writer, Blogger, Author who writes non-fiction pieces to Interest, Inform, and Inspire. 

Please call the office phone number at 
520-299-3547 (office hours 8am-5 PM MST), or use email to contact me. 

Discuss ways Nancy's writing and editing services can relieve you of some of the deadline pressure you may be experiencing. 

Visit her WebsiteSee more about 
Ways to work together. 👍

This post has been shared at Wonderful-Wednesday-blog-hop-fun!

This post has been shared at Senior Salon Pit Stop#299

This post has been shared at Happiness-is-homemade-461
This post has been shared at January-2023-Edition-Hearth-and-Soul-Link-Party/
This post has been shared at Happiness Is Homemade Link Party – Christmas Inspirations
This post has been shared at Share-the-wealth-link-up-#31



  1. Chakra is a term I knew but never knew what exactly it meant - this post was very helpful! Was initially drawn to yellow so that's good to know!

    1. Love to know what colors people are drawn to Katherine. It could mean something about your personality and/or what you need more of today to align your chakras. Contemplate it and if you can, let me know what you feel it is. Warm regards, Nancy Andres

  2. I've always wondered about chakras! This post is super interesting and a really helpful starting point for digging into learning more. Thanks so much!

    1. Thanks so much Michelle. Perhaps it would be handy to pin it for future reference. Thanks for the visit and comment and have a marvelous day!

  3. I'm always interesting in chakras. Some great info here Nancy. Enjoyed the post.

    1. Thanks so much Judee. Glad you found the post interesting. Wishing you a beautiful day.

  4. Replies
    1. Thanks Eva for your comment and visit. Wishing you a beautiful day and please come back again.

  5. I find the chakras fascinating, Nancy! I like the technique of visualising the colours to help improve wellness. Thank you for being a part of Hearth and Soul.

    1. Thanks April for the Hearth and Soul Party and Wish You a Beautiful Week.

  6. Hi Nancy,
    I've just found your blog through the Hearth and Soul blog link up. I regularly do a chakra aligning meditation. It always helps me to get back in balance and feel less stressed. Thank you for sharing your knowledge on the subject.

    1. Thanks so much Georgina for the visit and comment. I can so relate to doing a chakra aligning meditation. It helps me to get back in balance and feel less stressed. Have a marvelous day and be well.

  7. I have always had an interest in this topic and how it might work to be a part of one's life and lifestyle. I am naturally drawn to blue....thanks for sharing with us as SSPS, have a great week ahead.